We’ve all heard the proverbial saying “patience is a virtue”, but what does it really mean?  Patience is nothing more than being able to put our wants and desires on hold for a given period of time.  Patience is something all of us want and need but few of us master it.  Patience and I, well… let’s just say we’re not on good terms!  I want so badly sometimes something to just come into my life, something to give me instant satisfaction and gratification.  That’s how I’ve always been, I don’t know why!

Patience is definitely something a virtue that must be practiced and perfected but something that can only be practiced through experiences no one really wants. It shows up at work, at school, with your parents, with your friends, with God, and with essentially everything and everyone you come into contact with.  You even experience having to use patience as a baby, dirty diapers and hunger can’t all be undone in a blink of an eye even though you cry your brains out and want it to be fixed.  Patience is something I struggle with so badly, and it really turns up around this time of the year.  I am one of the MOST impatient people you’ll ever meet around Christmas, I buy presents for friends and family and they buy presents for me and I just want everyone to open everything so I don’t have to wait to see the smiles on their faces when they open their presents.  Patience is something I want and need, but I know it doesn’t just come over night (maybe it’s something I can put on my Christmas list)! So until I begin to master this virtually impossible to master virtue, I will not only wait and practice, but I will keep a good attitude while waiting.  To me, that’s patience, staying optimistic while having to wait for what we desire.

I know for a fact every human on this planet wants something NOW! Sleep, caffeine, food, a drink, family, friends, comfort, a friendly ear, or maybe it’s just one small second of rest from this hectic lifestyle.  But I promise waiting for whatever it is you want and desire will make finally getting it that much better.  Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s…. the wait, it’s unbearable! I want so much, right now!  But I must wait, and that waiting, I know will bring with it more joy.  Take time out of this busy, “it’s all about the here and now”, “I must have it now” materialistic society we all live in, and instead of enjoying what we see in the future and the things we may be getting, think about what we have and are blessed with.  There is so much, and because I know I have so much, I know I can wait and be patient with optimism for what is to come.

